Are you a vegan hot sauce lover? Hot sauce can be found in almost every cuisine, and it’s no different when it comes to veganism. The hot sauce market has become increasingly popular and diverse, which means there are more plant-based options than ever. Hot sauces come in many different flavors and spice levels. Some people use them for their unique taste, while others use them to add heat to their meals and dishes. But how did the first hot sauces come into existence? Let’s find out!
What is Hot Sauce?
Hot sauce is a condiment typically made from vinegar, spices, and chilies. The spiciness of hot sauce is usually determined by the number of chili peppers used and the amount of time the sauce is left to age in a bottle or jar. Hot sauces are great for spicing boring, bland foods and can be used as an all-purpose condiment. Hot sauce is also full of nutrients and can help aid in digestion.
A Brief History Of Hot Sauces
Hot sauce has a long history, dating back to the Aztecs and Mayans, who were the first to add chilies to food. The chilies were primarily used for their medicinal properties and not for their flavor. The Aztecs and Mayans would grind up the chilies, mix them with water, and then drink the mixture as a remedy for stomach pain.The earliest known hot sauce was discovered in an ancient Chinese tomb. The sauce was found in pottery vessels estimated to be around 2000 years old. It was made with dried chilies, salt, and fermented fish. Chinese chefs would mix chilies with fermented fish to make a sauce that was used as a dipping sauce.
The Origins Of Vegan Hot Sauce
The first commercial hot sauce was made in Louisiana in the 1800s. This hot sauce was made with peppers, vinegar, and spices, which is vegan! Many people have claimed that their home city was the birthplace of hot sauce, but no one knows for sure because no one kept track of it back then. One thing is for sure, hot sauce is a staple in many cuisines worldwide and is loved by many people. With the growth of the plant-based food movement, vegan hot sauces have become more common. Hot sauces can be made with a variety of different ingredients. Some popular ingredients include peppers, carrots, tomatoes, garlic, apple cider vinegar, spices, and herbs and spices. Hot sauces can range in heat levels. Some hot sauces are mild, while others are incredibly spicy and are meant to be used in small amounts.
Hot sauce is not always vegan friendly especially in Southeast Asia fish sauce, and shrimp paste are very common ingredients in their cuisine. Although vegan hot sauce has been around for centuries and is a staple in many cuisines, you couldn’t find a vegan one in Southeast Asia. However, we make a vegan hot sauce so that those who do not want to eat shrimp paste, can enjoy Malaysian hot sauce. Try Mama Lam’s vegan hot sauce for the perfect addition to many bland meals.